Published By

Ashwani  (iEsphere)

New Year's Day Celebrations: Varying Times Across Different Time Zones Worldwide

1. Jan 1 became New Year's Day in ancient Rome, shifting from March 1 in the Georgian calendar.

2. Earth's 24 time zones lead to staggered global New Year celebrations.

3. Different countries enter the New Year at varied times due to time zone differences.

4. Kiritimati Island starts 2024 at 10 am GMT on Dec 31.

5. Tonga, Samoa follow at 11 am GMT, initiating celebrations.

6. New Zealand, Australia, Japan, South Korea join in subsequently.

7. American Samoa marks the last inhabited place to welcome 2024 in the South Pacific.

8. Baker Island, Howland Island close the New Year at 12 pm GMT on Jan 1st.

Japan Earthquake: Reacting to a Tsunami Warning - What You Need to Know