Tata Harrier and Safari Shine in India NCAP: Unveiling Their Strength

Tata Motors recently tested the safety of its new Tata Harrier and Safari models in India through the NCAP crash test. However, the company had already put these vehicles through the Global NCAP, where both received an impressive five-star safety rating.

This means the cars performed very well in safety tests, but now Tata is retesting them specifically for India. The results from these tests will help us understand how these vehicles perform in crash scenarios according to Indian safety standards.

India NCAP Rating

Tata Harrier and Safari Shine in India NCAP

Great news for the Indian automotive industry! Bharat NCAP, a native safety assessment program, has made its debut in the Indian market. This initiative means that vehicles will no longer require testing at foreign security facilities.

The India NCAP aims to align its testing results and protocols with the esteemed Global NCAP. Under these aligned standards, the Tata Harrier and Safari have both secured an impressive five-star safety rating.

This development underscores a significant step forward in ensuring standardised safety assessments for vehicles within the country.

Tata Harrier and Safari Shine in India NCAP

Both the SUVs have performed well in the Indian market. And we see this demonstration in normal life as well.

Tata Harrier and Safari Safety features

Both vehicles are equipped with similar safety features. The Harrier and Safari are based on the OMEGARC architecture derived from Land Rover’s D8 platform, which is an excellent architecture.

In addition, it is operated with the best ADAS technology, which includes lane departure warning, lane departure, adaptive cruise control, automatic emergency braking, lane keeping, blind spot monitoring system, real cross traffic alert, traffic jam. Features like Assist and driver attention are available.

Tata Harrier and Safari Shine in India NCAP

Apart from this, it has 7 airbags, electronic stability control, tire pressure monitoring system, hill assist, hill descent control, traction control, 3 point seat belt reminder, 360 degree camera and ISO fix fixed child seat mount seat other safety features. Features include: .

Tata Harrier and Safari engine

Both the SUVs are equipped with the same engine options. 2.0 liter 4 cylinder diesel engine that produces 168 bhp and 350 Nm of torque. This engine option comes with a six-speed manual and a six-speed torque converter automatic gearbox. Hopefully in 2024 we will see petrol engines as well.

Tata Harrier and Safari List of features

Tata Harrier and Safari Shine in India NCAP

Both are similar in terms of features. It comes with a 12.3-inch touchscreen infotainment system with a 10.5-inch fully digital instrument cluster and wireless Android Auto with Apple CarPlay connectivity.

Other highlights include connected car technology, 6-way height adjustable driver seat with ventilated seats, panoramic sunroof, ambient lighting, wireless mobile charging, powered Jester Control tailgate, air purifier, premium leather seats and premium sound system.

aspect Details
Price (Ex-showroom Delhi) 15.49 Lakh to Rs.26.44 Lakh (Introductory)
Variables Smart, pure, adventurous, fearless
the color Sunlight Yellow, Coral Red, Pebble Grey, Lunar White, Oberon Black, Seaweed Green, Ash Grey.
Boot space 445 liters
engine 2.0 liter diesel (170 PS/350 Nm)
Transfer 6-speed manual, 6-speed automatic
Fuel efficiency MT: 16.80 kmpl, AT: 14.60 kmpl
Infotainment system 12.3-inch touchscreen with wireless Android Auto and Apple CarPlay
Driver display 10.25 inch full digital
sound system 10 speakers JBL
Safety features Full suite of Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS) including 7 airbags (6 as standard), Electronic Stability Control (ESC) with hill assist, 360-degree camera, Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS), Adaptive Cruise Control

What did Tata Motors say?

Shailesh Chandraji, MD, Tata Motors Passenger Vehicle Limited and Tata Passenger Electric Mobility Limited said on the occasion,“India ncap is an important step, as it provides users with a reliable, objective score to evaluate security aspects.

Taking better decisions by informed consumers in different vehicles will increase the preference towards safer vehicles in the country.

We acknowledge and appreciate the joint efforts of the government, regulatory bodies and the automotive industries in this endeavour.

At Tata Motors, safety is valued in our DNA and we are honored to win the first India NCAP certification with exemplary five-star safety ratings for two of our vehicles. We are committed and will continue to work to improve overall vehicle safety.

Leave a Reply